Foster care politics

scThings aren’t always rainbows and butterflies, they say that lots of things should happen and they don’t. For example; within 72 hours a mental health provider should contact you or within X days a DCS caseworker should come to your home. Yeah, not so much. These things should happen and I’m calling around to make sure I’m not going to be caught up in the failure of other people issues and no one knows anything. Awesome.

I was told, on Monday, sometime this week that Shy and Bells would have a visit with their family, today is Friday and I’ve still not heard anything from their case worker. I’ll be calling the caseworker as soon as I’m done with this post to see what is actually happening. Communication is poor, that’s not a big surprise. I’m not sure if it’s always like this or if this is a fluke, I’m new.

Yesterday I had a full, crazy, day. I had two kids dentist appointments, a kids doctors appointment, three kids to get to cheer camp, and I had two clients totaling a 10 hour work day. Not to mention all the kids school pick up and drop offs at three different school. I still managed to make dinner, entertain all the kids ‘watch me!’ things, and get everyone tucked in happily. I was exhausted, the house was looking pretty good! All the kids did their chores and completed their homework and tidied up, I was feeling so proud of my little army!

2 thoughts on “Foster care politics

  1. Crazy, Mad Mommy Love says:

    Poor communication, unfortunately, seems to be a trend. The best thing you can do is to be on top of things yourself, as it sounds like you already are. YOU have to be the advocate for these kids because the workers have too much on their plates. If you think the kids needs counseling, pursue it. If you think they need other accommodations, make it happen. That’s the best advice I can give you.

  2. thebeautifulopportunity says:

    Keep it going, proactive mama! I’ve found that the first few weeks of a placement are very hectic, but that after a while, things simmer down. Though it may always be bureaucratic and slower going than seems reasonable, a lot will get better. Visits will be put on a regular schedule. The initial flurry of doctor appointments will be care of. You’ll get a good sense of when and how to best communicate with your worker.

Leave a Reply

