The ol’ school scramble

Today I bought 6 pairs of school shoes, yes 6, do you know how particular kids can be?! Todays damage was $214.87 THANK YOU Famous Footwear coupon! Oddly enough the boys were WAY more picky than the girls, ‘I need skater shoes…I always ride my skateboard. These DC’S are siiiiiick!’ And ‘I need something cool but not sporty, Nike haha I don’t think so, and not super skate-y…maybe Vans or Converse?’ What is going on here?! When did my boys turn into these individuals?! I though I could just buy some shoes, whatever was on sale and definitely under $50 and everyone would be fine with it. The girls, especially the younger ones, loved everything. They were easy to sway to the sale shoes. Biscuit picked some sandals and has yet to choose some actual shoes, close toed, for the first half of the year. In other shoe news; a sweet sale know as Christmas in July allowed me to buy two pairs of Ugg boots for the youngest girls for under $150. Holla if you love savings!

Now we are onto backpacks…this is a tough one. I’ve bought Bells and Shy theirs…they weren’t too picky and I’ve got Boychild taken care of he loves theย  MX stuff. Bunny isn’t sure if she wants to use her Batman backpack or if she wants a new one…this kid is totally struggling with gender roles. Lemon wants a Daniel Tiger backpack but I’m not keen on spending $35 for a prek backpack. I may print out an iron on of Daniel Tiger and get crafty with a DIY project. Biscuit, ugh, Junior High is serious business. Everything is carefully thought out; even folders and backpacks. I’m not ready for this. Also, paying $165 for a backpack is non negotiable…even if it is ‘soooo perfect!!!’ No.

Next we do folders, pencils, glue sticks, binders, and all that crap on the back to school supplies list. I need coupons, people. Where is the best place to buy all of these supplies?! I’ve been seeing people post on Facebook that one child’s supplies in grade school neared $140. Wow. I’m hoping I can do better than that, guide me frugal parents, mama needs a deal.

Cheer. Cheer. Cheer. My girls are at the gym constantly and they love it. I love to see them happy and involved. I never imagined myself to be a cheer mom but it’s a reality. I enjoy the community within the sport, I love watching the girls compete and even more so seeing their coaches while they preform, and I like the lessons the girls learn. What could you possibly learn in cheer?! Humility. Pride. Compassion. Sportsmanship. Seriously, if you can work with a team of cheerleaders you can easily work on Wall Street or rock Harvard without flinching.

As it starts to cool down that means more motocross stuff! Boychild is psyched. He can’t wait to get fast and dirty. I love his enthusiasm, despite the crashes and failures he always pops back up and hits it again. He is confident and strong while he rides and I absolutely love that.

Lemon…she’s happy go lucky and wants to cheer like her sisters. With any luck next year she can do that! Wouldn’t that be amazing?! Three competitive cheerleaders?! Who am I, what’s happening?! Am I a crazy cheer mom?!

Leave a Reply

