I’m not really into fads anymore, but…

I know you’ve all seen it, Facebook flooded with Younique, It Works, Pampered Chef, Avon, and other sell from home stuff. Everyone is talking about how great their product is and how you should try it because it will change your life. But will it? Can you prove it?

Recently a friend of mine started boasting about Thrive. Then another. Then another. Thrive is the new fad, everyone says they feel great while using these Thrive products. Okay, fine. My interest was piqued; the product didn’t boast weight loss, it didn’t boast any magic cure, it pretty much just boasted that you’re going feel better and be blasted with XYZ vitamins, and you’re going to feel healthy. Okay. Whatever.

I did some digging, it looks like another gimmick. BUT, I’m drawn in by the cute skin patches. What can I say? And could all of my friends be lying about how they felt just to get their two people below them to get their products for free? I don’t know. Why lie to get people to sign up with you? Especially if all you’d be getting is free product. They’re all new to it so I doubt the cash perks are enough to make them promote endlessly.

I asked for samples, $20 for 3 days? Are you high? NO. If you believed in your product that you’ve been boasting about, and you want to make a sale, you would be happy to invest in your future client. This is shady. The thing that got me most is that these people are my friends. Red flag. Are my friends trying to rip me off? The short answer…yeah. The longer answer is, they can’t afford to spend money to make money and if that’s the case you’re obviously not sure if your product is worth investing in.

I sought out the product further and got my husband and I six day sample packs and not from anyone one we know because they’ve got shady business practices. We are going to try it out and I’ll let you know if it works. The people who sell this stuff, who believe in it, and are willing to make a sacrifice in order to make someone else’s life better are the real hero’s. My faith has been restored and that’s why we are going to try it. Is it a gimmick? I will let you know. Our samples are in the mail and the person sending them is not a friend, it is a stranger who recently started using the product 2 months ago. Guess how much I had to pay? I think you know the answer.

I will happily buy something that works, but I know something for sure…I will not be buying from my friends.

In addition; I love Pampered Chef, Younique looks cool, and It Works, well, I’m still on the fence about that. Listen, whatever works for YOU is awesome. Just remember you cannot sell anything to ME that you’re not 100% committed too…even if it is a gimmick or fad. Because, let’s be honest I like fad stuff and I’m easily drawn in.

2 thoughts on “I’m not really into fads anymore, but…

    • Mohave County Mama says:

      You know, I’ve been doing it for two days and I’ve already decided that when I finish up the free stuff that I’m not using their protein shakes anymore. It’s over priced and tastes terrible (I prefer Arbonne, the vanilla kind, 1 scoop is delicious with water and yields 80 calories.) The vitamins and/or patch are pretty great so far. Im not sure which one is giving me the results…maybe both? I’ve completely eliminated caffeine (I’m a diet soda junkie) and I feel pretty darn good and I don’t crave it. Honestly, it could just be all the B12 and vitamins that are badass. I’ll keep uou updated. And spending $100 a month on supplements is absurd but so is spending that much (or more) on energy drinks and soda. I need a life change and I don’t want to be a slave to any product.

Leave a Reply

