Ch-ch-changes.

Today marks a day of change, I’m unsure of what the future holds. Bells and Shy have court this morning, it’s a permanency hearing. What does that mean? Well, it means that the courts are trying to figure out what is best in the long haul for these kids. Is reunification still an option? Will parental rights be severed? Will they find family members willing to adopt them? Will we adopt them? It’s a big day.

Obviously they will take into account what the kids want, and it’s probably not staying here. Why? They haven’t fully comprehended that all foster homes aren’t like ours, in fact they think every foster home is like ours.  They think they’ll have their own rooms, a pool, a trampoline, pets…in short they told me all foster families are rich. (We sure aren’t rich but based on the living conditions that the kids were in before,  I get it. We’re only rich in love!) Bells and Shy have issues with trusting people and they’re ready for the next step in their adventure. They will undoubtedly bounce from home to home until they age out of foster care or move into a group home.

I wish I could persuade them into staying…that is unethical. I’ve told them that we are going to court today to figure out a long term plan for them and where they will live. They’ve come to ask me a series of questions:

‘Can I have my birthday party before we leave?’

‘Will we still get to keep our stuff?’

‘If I keep picking at this blackhead on my nose do I still have to go to court?’

‘Do we have to stay together or can we be seperated?’

I’ve tried answering them to the best of my ability, but I don’t have the answers to some of the questions.

Husband and I had talked about the possibility of adopting the both of them, if they decided they wanted to stay, Husband just said ‘Looks like I’ll have to buy Shy his own dirtbike.’ The truth is; this is new for all of us. We have no idea what we are doing. We are like that little bunny hopping through the forest, except we are hopping through foster care system.

Wish us luck this morning, pray for us, anything would be great. I have no idea what’s going to happen, all I know is Bells and Shy have been with us for 10 months and during those months they’ve become our family. Whether the stay or go…nothing will change that.

10 thoughts on “Ch-ch-changes.

  1. Ameya says:

    Oh gosh. Sending lots of love and good thoughts to all of you. I hope to foster down the road (when I’m a real grown up…) and I can only imagine how paintful this part is. ❤

  2. Sherri says:

    Prayers To you and Jason. I really hope they stay with you all. Big hugs. And huge prayer for them two and all of you. Love you Sabrina. You are one of the best people I know. Your love and compassion for everyone you meet. And I’m so proud to to say you are my cousin. Xoxoxox

  3. Mary says:

    You have a good heart and you are so compassionate and unique (in a great way😉) and an amazing mom and they’d be blessed to have you all for their forever home. Whatever the outcome, I’ll be praying for you ALL!

  4. Kalie from aus! says:

    Wow I never knew this! You’re the most amazing person and family ever! I hope everything turns out great for everyone involved. Stay strong and positive! I’m so wow’d by this! Never knew you still had a blog :p you’ve come a long way since livejournal Aha. Sending all my love to your family today! Xx

Leave a Reply

