I played the yes card today!

If I’ve learned anything from fostering children I’ve learned that even if we do say yes to a child or children it doesn’t necessarily mean that they’re actually coming to our home. Apparently, there is a lot of DCYS underground stuff that happens, I still have no clue how they decide which home will be best for the child at hand. I used to think that they called down a list of homes with open beds and waited for the ‘yes.’ I don’t think that’s how it works…if it is I’d be amazed. Sometimes I think they call everyone on the list and when they get a certain number of people to say yes DCYS plucks a random person from the yes list and the others remain backup just in case it’s not what they thought it would be. 

Well, in the middle of writing this post DCYS called.

Looks like we will have 2 new family members! We will pick them up tonight, it’s a very strange case but I feel like it will be a good fit. I know that they’re siblings, the girl is Biscuits age (12) and the boy is 6, I know that they’re pretty solid kids per the DCYS worker, and I know that my family is going to be eager to meet them! 

In other news, Murphy’s first night home was terrible. After about 4 hours in her crate she whimpered and howled loudly for the remainder of the night. She seems to prefer it outdoors and has spend all day outside playing with kids and laying on the pool decking. Murphy seems to be pretty bright; she’s not had any accidents inside the house or her crate. She loves praise a has the cutest little puppy face ever. We all adore her but I think Boychild really, really, has connected with her. 

Leave a Reply

